Three candidates for Mayor’s post

The Election for the new City Mayor is set for tomorrow.

As of 4:30pm 14th April 2021 today, a total of three (3) candidates have been nominated for the Mayor’s position.

As of order of receipt the first candidate is Councillor for Vura ward Reginald Ngati, who was nominated by Cr. Charles Aiwosuga (Naha ward) and Cr. Billy Abae (Vavaya ward).

The second candidate is Cr. Robert Oge of Kukum Ward, who was nominated by Cr. Mostyn Saferio (Mbuburu ward) and Cr. Clement Terawauri (Mataniko ward).

Third candidate is Cr. Eddie Siapu of Rove/Lengakiki ward, who was nominated by Cr. Solomon Sai ( Panatina Ward) and Cr. Luciano Sade (Vuhokesa ward)

Candidates will be given the opportunity to withdraw their candidacy before voting process begins tomorrow.

During the voting, all elected Councilors, appointed Councilors with the four Ex-officio are eligible to cast their votes in a secret ballot.

Acting City Clerk Fred Warereau said the Council is looking forward for a new leadership and said the management is ready to work with the new Mayor.

– HCC Press


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.